• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

history of RH

Explorer ,
Oct 12, 2007 Oct 12, 2007

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi - I'm new to HATs and RH, trying to pick the best one for a customer. I know that RH7 is coming in Nov but I'm looking at this forum I see "RH for Word", "RH for HTMLHelp", "WebHelp", "FlashHelp", "WinHelp" and I've also been looking at "RH Office Pro for ASP.NET" because the application I'll be working on will be written in that platform.

But what are all these different flavors of RH? Are they differnt products? Should I be studying the features of each? Why are they in separate forum topic headings? And where is the topic on ASP.NET?

I know this is a tall order but I wish someone could capsulate this product line and give me some solid direction in my shopping.

Thanks,
jl

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Trying to pick a help system for someone else is a brave act! To answer your question about the terms you have used.

RoboHelp HTML and RoboHelp for Word are two applications that you use to create outputs.

The outputs can be:
- WinHelp (RoboHelp for Word only)
- HTML Help otherwise referred to as compiled HTML help and contained in a single file intended to be run locally
- WebHelp which is uncompiled HTML files and is run from a server
- FlashHelp which is much the same as webhelp but can run across many platforms.

Whether or not you need Office Pro depends on whether the help is being run as a service. If it is not, then webhelp will work just fine. If it is, then I believe you need Office Pro.

Perhaps with that knowledge and some Googling, you can get a clearer picture.