• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

why won't lightroom open my raw (NEF) files? I shoot with a Nikon D5500.

New Here ,
Apr 04, 2015 Apr 04, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I just did a photoshoot and lightroom is telling me that my files are not supported by lightroom. it says lightroom is up to date. I have a cc subscription and can't use lightroom. please tell me there is an easy fix

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Apr 04, 2015 Apr 04, 2015

There hasn't been a Lightroom update since the D5500 was released. I suspect it will be added in the next update or upgrade. In the meantime, you can use DNG converter 8.8 to create digital negative copies that can be opened with the current versions of Lightroom.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There hasn't been a Lightroom update since the D5500 was released. I suspect it will be added in the next update or upgrade. In the meantime, you can use DNG converter 8.8 to create digital negative copies that can be opened with the current versions of Lightroom.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Lightroom is up-to-date simply means it's the latest version released by Adobe.

However, Lightroom (even the up-to-date version) does not yet support the D5500

Camera Raw plug-in | Supported cameras

As an interim measure, you can use the free Adobe DNG converter 8.8, convert all D5500 NEF files to DNG format then edit the DNGs in Lightroom 5.