• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to make Premiere perform better, use all RAM available?

Contributor ,
Jun 10, 2015 Jun 10, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Premiere and still learning. Premiere constantly hangs, drags, virtually freezes up and makes editing somewhat torturous. Even though I have 32 GB of RAM installed, my OS Activity Monitor app shows that Premiere is using only 1.5 GB at any time. How to get Premiere to use all the RAM I have?

More info:

I'm compiling 1280x720 sequences from a wide variety of sources, mp4, wmv's, m4v, avi's. Most of these live on an external drive with USB3 connection.

My projects typically have between 3 or 4 and up to 25 different videos imported, some high-res, others scaled up to fill the frame, edited in to several hundred clips with video and audio tracks.  Also lots of split screens and motion effects.

I understand this kind of project would be processor intensive.  I routinely have to wait between 3-8 minutes while Premiere "does its thing". Each time I move to a different part of the sequence to work -  and most of the time when I push the space bar (play) - nothing happens at all, until I save, which takes 5-10 minutes. Premiere doesn't even give an alert that it's having problems, it just stalls out. When I come back a half hour later, often its ready to go again.

Rendering the entire work area takes all day and then the next time I go to edit, the same delay issue pops up again.

Is this just what Premiere editors have to suffer through? Does Premiere have a cap on how many source movies it can import, or how large the file size? Also, do I need to have a scratch disk?

Tips for optimizing through-put for large projects with all the bells and whistles appreciated.

Mac OS 10.6.8 | 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB RAM | Premiere CS6

Views

Translate