• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to use Chinese characters as autonumbers, variables, etc.

Mentor ,
Jul 14, 2015 Jul 14, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

(FM2015, Win 7)

I'd like to use Chinese characters in several dialog boxes, such as the following as a static autonumber for note paragraphs:

I'd also like to use these characters in variables, cross-reference formats, etc. The dialog boxes accept the characters but the document text just shows question marks. I don't know enough about these character sets to make it work. Can anybody help out an Asian character noob here?

Thanks,

Russ

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Mentor , Jul 17, 2015 Jul 17, 2015

OK, well I happened to figure it out, thanks to some clues in an old thread:

Chinese fonts in FrameMaker 9

To make it work, I created a character format that uses the MingLiU font, then used it as a building block in the autonumbers, variable definitions, etc. Like magic, the Chinese characters that I pasted into the dialog boxes now appear correctly in the document.

I am happy that it is working, but I do wish that I understood why.

Thanks to all who weighed in.

Russ

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Jul 15, 2015 Jul 15, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Unless FM has been enhanced in later versions, the autonumbering is pretty inflexible. It wants to do only one of 5 things (this is based on observed FM7 behavior):

• a+/A+: a-z or A-Z, rolling over to aa or AA, etc.
    (whether this is exclusively Latin, or might follow your localization is not known to me)