Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

autocad 2010 dwg to illustrator cs5

Oct 28, 2010 Oct 28, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am trying to import an autocad 2010 dwg into illustrator cs5.  I am new to illustaror.  The help documents and forum discussions say illustrator can open dwg files.  I get error messages.  I tried place command, still doesn't work.  The dwg file is very simple--just some linework--so there should not be problems with layers, colors,etc.

Can someone explain these simple steps to openthe dwg file?

TIA

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

According to me we can simply place the AutoCAD drawing in the Illustrator file by using the PLACE command (File>Place). However in this method the drawing is not at any particular scale and needs to be scaled manually using a scale bar as a reference. This process can be tedious and not highly accurate .

Also we can make a PDF file out of the autocad drawing. The advantage in using this method is that the output PDF can be at the required scale. Thus when we place the PDF into the Illustrator file it is according to the required scale and doesnot require any further adjustments in terms of scale.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I get error messages.