4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 28, 2015 2:13 AM by devsel

Nested+overrides

devsel

Hi All,

I'm new in Indesign scripting.

How to find the nested style applied characters, then check overrides. Finally, get the report from overrides of nested characters (page number with content).

Can you please help about this.

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 8.34.44 PM.png

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 8.36.05 PM.png

Advance thanks,

Devsel.

• 1. Re: Nested+overrides
          Marc Autret Level 4

Hi Devsel,

IMHO there would be easier ways to get started with InDesign scripting than working with nested styles and overrides—you should first study how regular styles work.

Anyway,

Basically we have to deal with both paragraph attributes and character attributes. What you seem to focus on is character attributes overrides. But as paragraph styles also contain character attributes, a full report of what happens to some portion of text has to include, I'm afraid, the paragraph style level. Here is a recap of those cascading effects which affect character attributes:

1. Paragraph style level (incl. inheritance mechanism, cf basedOn property).

2. Manually edited paragraph attributes (i.e. "paragraph overrides," which may include nested style overrides!)

3. Nested styles (i.e. stack of automated character styles dictated by the current paragraph attributes.)

4. Manually applied—not [None]—character style (incl. inheritance mechanism, cf basedOn property.)

5. Manually edited character attributes (which override the current character style.)

Given a piece of Text, its textStyleRanges collection allows to identify discontiguities at levels 4 and 5, that is, manually applied changes regarding either character style or attributes. (Note however that a character style might be 'empty' relative to its inherited attributes, meaning that no actual change is done in terms of visible properties, although this still is reported as a range break.)