Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

FM 7.2 and RH 7.01, problems: link span tags, updating fm files

New Here ,
Feb 21, 2008 Feb 21, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,
I am using FrameMaker 7.2 and Robohelp HTML 7.01 to convert framemaker books into online help. I am new to Robohelp HTML and previously (some years ago) used Robohelp for FM.

Two major blocks I am running into:

1. Hyperlinks are sprinkled throughout the document project I am currently working on. I've imported this book into robohelp. In the generated output (regardless of whether Webhelp or Flashhelp), where hyperlinks appear inside a paragraph, the text following the link all the way to the end of the paragraph is blue. In the source html, I can see that the closing span tag is not put at the end of the hyperlink but at the end of the paragraph. In the framemaker file, the blue character formatting is definitely applied only to the characters that define the URL link. I cannot figure out what to do in the Framemaker file to prevent this wonky treatment in the final html output and I don't want to have to fix span tags in the robohelp files every time I generate a new version of this document.

Any ideas?

2. When I make changes to a FrameMaker file, and I regenerate the output in Robohelp, the changes made in the FrameMaker file aren't getting into the output. How do I get the Robohelp project to pull in the updates from Framemaker? I tried to reimport the files, but I just get a double set of html files, that don't show the new updates ... the help file contains two instances of the entire document. II've seen reference to the import by reference, but I am not given this option ... I think this might only be available in the Tech suite that was just released.

I would appreciate any help that you could give me. I've searched for a discussion on this but could find nothing. If I've missed it, please accept my appologies.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines