Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Accessing Help for a CD Installer

New Here ,
Feb 22, 2008 Feb 22, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I'm a novice at writing Help and I need some guidance please.

I've been asked to create a Help file that can be accessed during the Installation or Upgrade of software via a CD.

The user Installing or Upgrading the software is taken through a Wizard, (standard procedure nowadays), following instructions as they go.

The Help I have written needs to pop up in a separate window beside the Wizard displaying the corresponding screen.

What do I need to do in RoboHelp, (Office X5), to get this to work, or is there programming involved in the Installer software as well.

An help would be much appreciated

Cheers

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi desufi and welcome to our community

If I'm understanding correctly, you are needing to create what is called Embedded Help. If this is the case, there really isn't anything in RoboHelp that will assist with that help type. Other than offering an interface to create the topic content that will display there. I stand to be corrected here, but I believe that most of what happens is done by the developer. They have to create the window that is used as well as create the links to the content you simply supply. Your content then populates their window.

Personally, I've never created that type of help before. I'm very hopeful that someone with more experience with that type of help will chime in here and either confirm what I've offered or set us all straight.

Cheers... Rick

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines