• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

can many people work on the same project at once?

New Here ,
Feb 28, 2008 Feb 28, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I am wondering if it is possible to have serveral people working on the same robohelp project at once. If so how do you do it? I will be working on a robohelp project "in the office" and have a contractor that will be doing some development offsight. What is the best way to bring my work and the contractor's work together into one project?

Sorry if this is a basic question but I'm brand new to the robohelp world :)

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you are taking about the same set of RH project files then whilst it is possible to have two or more authors working on it I would not recommend it for your sanity. If you do go down this line you'd have to be very sure that you would not be overwriting what the other is doing. Technically all you'd have to do is copy the source files onto the two PCs and then import the HTM files once they have finished working on them. You'd have to have one of you controlling the TOC, Index, etc. though.

A better way of working is to have you both working on separate RH projects that you can later merge together into another RH project. For example, you work on project B, the contractor works on project C and you merge project B and C into project A. There is quite a good explanation of merged help files in the RH help.