• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using PDFs - Robohelp 7 HTML

New Here ,
Apr 11, 2008 Apr 11, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Robohelp. Is there anyway to use PDFs as topics instead of importing them and converting them to HTML? I have over a 100 PDFs i need to use on a project but don't like the way they look when converted. Does anyone have any suggestions?

much appreciated,

Eynar

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Eynar and welcome to the forums.

Yes you can add pdfs directly to a help file. It can get a bit tricky and depends a little on how you want them displayed. If you create a direct link to a .pdf (e.g. <A HREF="yourfile.pdf">click here</A>), the link will prompt the user to save or open the file. You can also use a shortcut control, which will open the .pdf in the user's default .pdf reader. The way to get the file to open in the help browser is to use the parser function (see below) and create a link calling that function <A ONCLICK="parser('yourfile.pdf')" STYLE="text-decoration:underline; COLOR: green; CURSOR: hand">Link to your PDF file</A>.

The parser function was written by Microsoft to find the correct path for linked files. I've included it here, you can also find it in Microsoft's help documentation. You would add it to your <HEAD> section. With this function your pdf files can be external to the compiled help file but in the same folder.

John

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied