18 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2016 6:17 AM by Nic_Petersen

How do I prevent AE from saving .AEP files in the wrong folders?

gigasaurus Level 1

I've been using AE heavily for about 6 months, and it has this really pesky basic Windows UI problem that makes life quite frustrating. I work on lots of projects that I maintain sequentially numbered in their respective folders. Typically in Windows when you choose "Save As" windows defaults to the folder the current file resides in.  For some reason After Effects defaults to the last folder I saved a file in, which often times is not the folder I am in. So I end up with project files from projectA stored in the projectB folder.  This leads to version control problems when members of the team can't find the most recent version of projectA and so they start working on the previous version of ProjectA and later on ask me where all my changes are.  I want to believe that AE has a checkbox in preferences somewhere that says "make save-as feature operate like every other windows program" - but I haven't found it yet.  Does anyone have any advice on this topic?

• 1. Re: How do I prevent AE from saving .AEP files in the wrong folders?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

I want to believe that AE has a checkbox in preferences somewhere that says "make save-as feature operate like every other windows program" - but I haven't found it yet.  Does anyone have any advice on this topic?