• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Merged WebHelp Files vs Using Conditional Text

New Here ,
Mar 25, 2009 Mar 25, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am working on my department's disaster recovery manual in RoboHelp 8. There is a separate manual for the entire company, plus each department has its own DR plan as well. I'd like to get all of these into RoboHelp eventually

I'm wondering if it would it be better to create individual help projects for each and merge them, or use conditional text tags to flag the topics that should appear in the online and print versions?

I've never used the WebHelp merge feature before, but I know it's given a lot of people a lot of headaches in the past, so I'm not sure what kinds of problems may arise if I go in that direction. I'm looking for whatever will be easier to update and maintain.

If anyone has done something similar, I'd appreciate your input/advice.

Thanks!

Jodee Walker
Germania Insurance
Brenham, TX

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Mar 25, 2009 Mar 25, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Jodee and welcome to the RH community.

It sounds like all departments will use most of the manual plus their own specific section. As such you could have the main section (that all departments would have) as one project and (maybe) each departments as a separate project. What I can't say is how much of this departmental content is the same or similar between the different projects. If it is very different a separate departmental project sounds like the way to go. If it is very similar you could have all the departments in a single project and use build tags to filter out the departments you don't need.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines