Exit

Backing up Lr photos on external hard drives

Community Beginner ,
Sep 08, 2016 Sep 08, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

This post is longwinded. Apologies.

I am sorry if this query has been answered before, I am about to make a hard drive purchase to store some Lr photos and wanted to be clear what I am doing is a correct and/or whether I have to do some tidying up work before attempt to move my photos. I am a novice user, so please pardon my ignorance.

I am running Lr CC (2015) on a MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, 2013) running El Capitan 10.11.6.

I am starting to accumulate a large number of photographs on my laptop that I would like to store on 2 4TB external hard drives - the second being a back up for the first. I want to move my photos to the hard drives and still be able to see them in Lr CC (2015) on my and work on them on in Lr CC  my laptop once they have been moved.

My photos are currently in the Pictures folder on my Mac: Pictures> 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

I am about to copy the photos to the first hard drive. And I want to make a copy of that hard drive on a second hard drive as the photos are very important to me.

If I copy the folders to my first LaCie 4TB hard drive:

1) What formatting do I need to make on my HDs to work with Lr and Mac?

2) Do I simply copy the folders to a folder I create on the hard drive that I call Pictures, like the folder name on my laptop? And then make a copy of that hard drive in its entirity on my second drive using backup software that comes with my drives?

3) One of my problems at the moment: I do not understand what  files such as iPhone photos-2.ircat .... mean and I seem to have many of them scattered in many locations? Do I move some or all of them, leave them where they are or duplicate them all to the hard drive?

For example, they can be found in the location:

My name>Pictures>iPhone photos>Backups>2014-07-21 0150>iPhone photos.lrcat .... and so on