• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Switching between Lightroom & photoshop

Community Beginner ,
Nov 03, 2016 Nov 03, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a newbie to both Lightroom & photoshop, so let me thank you all for any help & advice you might offer.

I am taking images of my jewelery which I produce. The problem I am having is the massive files that photoshop is producing. Basically for each design I am taking anything between 6 & 10 shots, taken at different focal points (stacking) I am not shooting raw in order to keep the file size down, I am shooting in standard JPEG, each JPEG is approx 1.5mgb, so for 10 shots (1 x design) 15mgb select them all in Lightroom, then open in layers in Photoshop, auto align, auto blend, flatten image & control "S" which takes back into Lightroom.

All good so far. The only problem is that Photoshop is storing a massive PSD file on my C drive anything from 150gig to a whopping 550gigs??

All of this to ultimately save a 250kb JPEG for the web?

Surely I am missing something here? this can't be right?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 03, 2016 Nov 03, 2016

The jpeg file format does not support layers, so if you want to retain layers for further editing later, it has to be PSD or TIFF.

Jpeg uses aggressive data compression to reduce file size. This compression is destructive, cumulative and non-reversible. For this reason you should not resave jpegs if it can be avoided - work in PSD/TIFF and keep those as master files, then save out jpeg copies as final end products if and when you need the reduced file size.

Once you open a jpeg into Photoshop, it

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied