Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

'before' EventListeners are firing AFTER the event

New Here ,
Nov 10, 2016 Nov 10, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey All!

I'm new to JavaScript, so please bare with me.

I've written a simple script that triggers the Spell Checking action before certain events occur (I'm aiming to do this before Save, SaveAs, and Export).

The problem that I'm running into is that the invoke action for Spell Checking occurs AFTER the event is finished running. The issue this causes is that it allows for an unchecked document to be saved or exported. My intention is to force the user to check spelling before they can successfully save or export a doc.

I'm sure I'm missing something in my script, but I can't figure out what it is. Any help would be appreciated!

My Script so far:

#target indesign

#targetengine "session"

main();

function main(){

alert('Hello 8');

var myBeforeSaveEvList = app.addEventListener("beforeSave", checkSpelling, false);

var myBeforeSaveAsEvList = app.addEventListener("beforeSaveAs", checkSpelling, false);

var myBeforeExportEvList = app.addEventListener("beforeExport", checkSpelling, false);

function checkSpelling(myEvent){

alert('Check Spelling...');

app.menuActions.item("Check Spelling...").invoke();

}

}

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

#targetengine "session"

main();

function main(){

alert('Hello 8');

app.addEventListener( "beforeExport", chSpelling );

app.addEventListener( "beforeSave", chSpelling );

app.addEventListener( "beforeSaveAs", chSpelling );

function chSpelling(myEvent){

}

}

Try this

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines