• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to store and backup library on external drive?

Community Beginner ,
Nov 13, 2016 Nov 13, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Guys,

I could you some help with pointing me in the right direction. I'm going to be purchasing he new 15" MacBook Pro with 256gb SSD for $2,399. I thought about going for the more expensive model that's $2,799 only because it has a 512gb SSD. However, when I thought about it, all of my documents are stored in iCloud and the only large files I have are from Lightroom and Photoshop.

I was thinking that the extra $400 I was going to spend for a larger internal HDD, would be better spent on an external drive and backup system. I am an amateur photographer and most of my files are from tutorials and some vacation photos right now. What would be the best system for me to store my whole Lightroom library and all photoshop documents on? I've heard of people talk about a RAID system, but I don't know much about them. Should I look into a RAID system or would I be better off with two hard drives and usin something like time machine to backup the drive?  The new computer uses USB-C so transfer rates should be really fast.

Any help you giys guys could offer me with my question is greatly appreciated. I'm getting the computer on Wednesday or Thursday and want to be prepared to get everything up and running.

Thank you you so much!!!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Nov 13, 2016 Nov 13, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied