Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

One LR System To Rule Them All

Community Beginner ,
Nov 14, 2016 Nov 14, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Guys,

I've been using LR for a few years, but never took the time to set it up properly. Now I'm paying for that mistake. Catalogs and libraries all over the place. I decided I have to sort this now. Watched a lot of tutorials, but still have a few nagging questions that I couldn't find the answer to:

I run LR on Mac Pro and a Macbook pro, so a desktop and a laptop. I want to be able to use LR between the two. So I presume the best way to do that is to put LR on Dropbox and wait for it to sync before I use it.

The thing I don't understand is where I should store my photos. I occasionally have big photoshoots, which of course, I put on my MacPro desktop and then bring them into LR. No issues there.

I also have loads of little pieces of work involving me snapping photos on the fly, and I want to get a quick edit done on them and then move on. This always results in me using my Macbook pro. When I do this, I would therefore have to bring them into the Macbook Pro? And they wouldn't be part of my main stock of photos on my desktop?

• What method should I use here to keep organised?
  • I really want to have just one LR catalogue and put every single photo I ever own on that. That would be really simple. Does this mean I would have to always remember to put my photos on my desktop, then bring them into LR? This is something I just cannot do.
  • Does anyone else have a desktop and laptop set up and got a system they could share with me?
  • Does anyone have any good video tutorials on the above?

Thanks in advance.

Phil

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Nov 14, 2016 Nov 14, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied