• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Same file: copied, packaged or updated and yet I have different colours.

New Here ,
Nov 17, 2016 Nov 17, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm having an issue with InDesign which I cannot fathom. I apologise now if this is blazingly obvious, but I don't use InDesign full time and I'm self-taught.

I seem to be having issues with the colours on my files. The files should be the same as they are either copies of the original file, use the same template or are from a package, but something is happening to the files and the blue is looking, and printing, more turquoise.

I created a file to design a roller banner for our business for us at a recent roadshow. When we were happy with this I packaged the files to send to the printers. When it was printed the colour was not as expected. My blue was more turquoise and not at all as expected.

So, I reviewed my computer first rather than blame the printer (which is normally the first point people try to make). From this, I noticed immediately on my recent files preview that the colours were off and that my blue was now a horrific turquoise. Yet I had made no changes other than the name of the file.

Filtronic_ID_1.jpgFiltronic_ID_2.jpg

However, when I open the files they look the same; so I'd never have noticed when working on them.

In the file preview the top line, only files 1, 3 and 6 are the correct colour.

Originally thinking that packaging the file was at fault I also tried to save the file as a new name ' File> Save As', and the same issue is occurring. As you can probably see from the extra file previews which are attempts at working out the issue.

This wasn't an issue I'd faced before and previously all of our prints have looked ok. Now this new issue has me caving in internally panicking that all future document and files will not be correct.