• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I do this with FrameMaker ExtendScripting?

Explorer ,
Nov 17, 2016 Nov 17, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Using FM 12.0

I'm a coder so coding is not the issue here. It's just my lack of familiarity with FM ExtendScript and the art of the possible.

I want to create a script that

1. Inserts a marker of a custom type called Editorial Changes. We can safely assume that this marker type (Editorial Changes) exists already.
  2. Displays an advanced marker window: Please see the mock-up window below. Studying sample scripts such as SnpCreateCheckBoxRadioButtons.jsx, I know I can create something like that window, so that's not an issue.
  3. Once the user has finished filling the fields, I want to capture the data and store it inside the marker field, say as an XML snippet.
  4. Later on, when a user selects a created marker of type "Editorial Changes," I want my script to intercept that event, grab the XML content from the marker and display my custom window with all these fields.

Does the sequence outlined through steps 1-4 doable via an ExtendScript? If you've done something like that and have a script lying around, would you mind sharing?

Thanks!

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are a bunch of events triggered by FrameMaker, but I don't know if there is one that is specifically triggered when a marker is selected. There are a couple of general purpose events like:

Constants.FA_Note_BackToUser

Constants.FA_Note_PreFunction

Constants.FA_Note_PostFunction