Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Muse SEO - Hiding text boxes with content for Search Engines

New Here ,
Nov 17, 2016 Nov 17, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

I am building a website in Muse where I would like to incorporate a couple informational animations made with Edge. I am however concerned about the written content in the animations being converted to images and thus not being recognised by search bots. I'm new to this but could I create text boxes with a copy of the same text that is in the animations and then simply hide the text boxes behind other elements in the page? Would this text with all the metadata be discoverable by search engines even though it is hidden from view? Could something like this work or am I not understanding how this really works?

Thank you for your consideration,

Brian

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Engaged , Nov 18, 2016 Nov 18, 2016

There are 2 ways of hiding content on a page:

1. Setting opacity to 0
  2. Hiding inside a breakpoint

If you go with 1, a search engine will be able to find the text but when it realizes that the text is not visible on the page, it will likely regard the text as spam.

If you go with 2, a search engine will not index the text at all if it is not visible on any breakpoint.

Unless something has changed about edge, animations that are added to a page from edge are added via an iframe which means that to a search

Votes

Translate

Translate
Engaged ,
Nov 18, 2016 Nov 18, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are 2 ways of hiding content on a page:

1. Setting opacity to 0
  2. Hiding inside a breakpoint

If you go with 1, a search engine will be able to find the text but when it realizes that the text is not visible on the page, it will likely regard the text as spam.