Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to edit text composition in After Effects

New Here ,
Dec 01, 2016 Dec 01, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I downloaded a template from Videoblocks which is a typography template, You can see it here After Effects CS4 Template: Sports Promo Typography - VideoBlocks

When I open it up in After Effects, I expected it to be editable text to change the words, but it doesn't seem to be the case. I can't figure out how you're supposed to change the text but still keep the effects?

If you double click on each text composition, it comes up with the camera effects and the background colour, but not a way to edit the text on screen. I can't seem to find a way of doing this anywhere.

Can anyone explain to me how you do this? Sorry, I'm quite new to After Effects.

Here are some screenshots to show what I mean. Thanks

Capture2.JPG

Capture1.JPG

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Dec 01, 2016 Dec 01, 2016

you should follow the instructions provided with this template if there are any. maybe they are attached as a readable format with the zip file or something. if you paid money for this then the owner owes you an explanation.

guessing by the way this setup looks, I would say you set your text inside the markers. just click twice on the markers and change the text in the comment text field and click o.k. if that's not it, there is a shy switch (though it is there probably for a reason so you won't

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

you should follow the instructions provided with this template if there are any. maybe they are attached as a readable format with the zip file or something. if you paid money for this then the owner owes you an explanation.