• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to force-save a document?

Engaged ,
Dec 02, 2016 Dec 02, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been scripting for a few years now, but it seems like there's no end to the way Adobe's products confound me. My latest conundrum is trying to save an open document to a network location without being prompted. This seems like a perfectly normal, easy problem to solve. InDesign CC 2017, however, chooses to make it difficult for me.

To save an open document, it's usually pretty easy.

var workDoc = app.open(new File("/Volumes/ArtDept/testfile.indd"), false);

/* Do some work on the file. */

workDoc.close(SaveOptions.YES);

To be clear, I'm on a Mac running Mac OS X 10.11.6 (El Capitan), and the file I'm working with is on a server on our LAN (Windows server, if it makes any difference).

The moment the `workDoc.close(SaveOptions.YES);` line is run, I am prompted on where to save the document. I want this script to run on hundreds of files, so I can't have it asking the user where to save each file; it should save over top of the original file without question. When working on a local HDD location, this isn't an issue. It seems that this only happens when working with a file on the server.

I have also tried using the `app.scriptPreferences.userInteractionLevel = UserInteractionLevels.NEVER_INTERACT;` way of keeping the app from bugging the user, but that causes the script to halt at the `.close` method, stating that the user canceled the operation. It's the same as having the user hit "Cancel" in the Save dialog. So that won't work.

I need it to *always* overwrite the original .indd file, without question. How can I do this?

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer