Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Forward/backward glitches in ID CS5.5?

New Here ,
Dec 05, 2016 Dec 05, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to InDesign, but I've been able to solve most of my problems by perusing the forums. However, I am encountering two problems on my InDesign CS5.5. I work at a newspaper, so these questions are definitely important for me to find answers to!

- One, oftentimes (not EVERY time), when I am typing in a text box, the punctuation goes to the beginning of the sentence. I cannot find where in 5.5 to change my settings and I do not know how the prior person who had this computer set it up. Any advice??

- Two, if I am creating a text box on the side (for example, to create a story jump), if I copy and paste that text box to the jump page, it's fine UNTIL I try to set it to multiple columns. Once I create multiple columns, it flips my text so that the end of the story is in the first column and where the jump should pick up is on the opposite side of the page.

I am assuming there is a language setting that's wrong somewhere. But I've spent way too much time trying to figure out the answers to these problems! This is on a Mac.

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Either you have a Middle East edition of InDesign installed, or something is very wrong. The behavior you're seeing is what you'd see if you had the ME version installed, with typical Arabic defaults. Tell me: if you go to InDesign -> Preferences, do you see a "Right-to-Left" category? If so, you have the ME edition installed, but we can help you set your generic preferences to exhibit left-to-right behavior.

If not, have you tried replacing your preferences?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines