• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Sony built-in lens profile applied

Contributor ,
Dec 02, 2016 Dec 02, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I recently started shooting with Sony A7R2 (compressed raw) and noticed a small alert in Lens Corrections tab in the Develop module.

Lightroom Lens Corrections.jpg

This itself is surprising as I have previously turned off all three Lens Compensation options in the camera menu. When I click the "i" icon it reveals the following:

Sony profile correction alert.jpg

Apparently chromatic aberration correction is applied in Lightroom whether you select it in camera or in Lightroom. It seems to me that the choice should remain with the individual not forced as it seems. While generally I do apply chromatic aberration to all my images there are times, when evaluating a new lens for instance, that I want to turn it off.

I am intersted if someone more in the know can shed some light on this.

-louie

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The lens profile is supplied by Sony the Camera manufacturer and is applied by the camera firmware if you shoot in jpeg mode. If you shoot raw then the info is in thew raw file and is being applied by Adobe at Sony's behest.

Regards, Denis: iMac 27” mid-2015, macOS 11.7.10 Big Sur; 2TB SSD, 24 GB Ram, GPU 2 GB; LrC 12.5, Lr 6.5, PS 24.7,; ACR 15.5,; Camera OM-D E-M1

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

i am also wondering why there is no way to disable this correction? It seems heavy handed of Sony and Adobe to force this to happen.

-louie

Votes

Translate