• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Editing Text in Indesign (Was Text on illustrator)

New Here ,
Dec 07, 2016 Dec 07, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

hello,

I'm fairly new to Illustrator and I'm having trouble with editing a text. I thought it would be simple considering I've used photoshop in the past. I'm working on a document that has been created by someone else. I am trying to edit a text that is already inserted on to the document, when I try to double click is doesn't let me. I tried editing other text in the document  by double clicking it seems to be working fine but its a specif text that doesn't allow me to edit. Whats the reason why I can only edit some text but not all text?

Thank you for you time!

Message was edited by: Barb Binder

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First of all check if that is really text or converted to outlines. When you go into outline mode, real text stays blck.

Then check if the layer is locked.

Then check in the preferences if "Type object selection by path only" is turned on. If so, turn it off.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Monika,

I can't seem get into outline mode, could it be the version of InDesign that I'm currently on?

Also, there seems to be only 1 layer and it is not locked.

Thank you for taking the time to reply!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied