• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

urgently need help with where my files are

Community Beginner ,
Dec 07, 2016 Dec 07, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Im a professional photographer, but I do art I am not technical.

The details

1) Have a new mac book pro running macOS Sierra 10.12.1 it was brand new. I did a full back from my old Mac Book Pro.

2) Completed the back up and everything went easily to my new Mac, even LR 5.7

3) Everything is where it was on the old mac, and set up exactly the same way

4) Except all the files are missing.

5) They are there, i see the pics, but when I  open one LR tells me "The file could not be found"

6) all the files are on my new laptop as they are easily found in "files"

7) I need someone to guide me how to get my files so LR can see them/ reead them or whatever needs to happen....

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Dec 08, 2016 Dec 08, 2016

Check the Folders panel.

If any of the folders are marked as missing "?" then you need to fix that before you try to fix any individually missing files.

Since you are on a Mac, you probably just need to "fix" the top-most missing folder, which will fix everything under it, since the drive name on the new Mac probably does not match the volume name on the old mac.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In Lightroom, in the library module are you seeing question marks, exclamation points on your images? If yes, right click on either a question mark or exclamation point on an image thumbnail to locate the missing file. This will bring up a dialog box that will allow you to browse to find the missing file. It will recognize other missing files if you check that box.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines