Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Paint Shop Pro "Local Tone Mapping" equivalent in Lightroom

Community Beginner ,
Dec 06, 2016 Dec 06, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I'm new to Lightroom but have been using PSP for a few years now. Do you know if there's an equivalent in LR for the PSP "Local Tone Mapping" adjustment? Might be something like 'clarify' but I'm not sure. If you have any idea I would love to know, local tone mapping can be very useful with landscape photos, it brings out details and if used smartly can make relatively flat photos really pop out.

thank you in advance

Gil

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Dec 12, 2016 Dec 12, 2016

gil1908 wrote:

Do you know if there's an equivalent in LR for the PSP "Local Tone Mapping" adjustment? Might be something like 'clarify' but I'm not sure.

I did a little more research on this and there is an equivalent to PSP's 'Local Tone Mapping' in PS called 'HDR Toning' that can be used on a single image file. So if you have LR CC use 'Edit in PS' to open the image file and then select Image> Adjustments> 'HDR Toning.' It will open in 'Local Adaption' mode allowing you to use any of the Preset

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Dec 07, 2016 Dec 07, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Show us an example from Paint Shop Pro, both before and after you use this adjustment in Paint Shop Pro.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I will add an example as soon as I get a chance.