Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ADE no longer works, two errors and a whole bunch of other garbage

Dec 13, 2016 Dec 13, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's such a long story that I don't know where to start and it's all starting to blur together, so I'll do my best here. I was originally using ADE 2.0, which I've been using since March of 2013 with few errors. I started with OpenLibrary (had no library card) and then two years ago moved to a place where I had a library card. Had few errors, a couple of instances of "E_STREAM_ERROR:", but they cleared up on their own and were only momentary.

Toward the end of October I was reading an ebook I'd borrowed from my local library. Got toward the middle and it seemed to freeze. It didn't really freeze. The book just kept going slowly. It got "stuck."  It took forever to go from the book to my library. I left the book in my library (as long as it wasn't accessed, it wasn't problematic) and sent an email to my library via Overdrive on 11/1. No response. I removed the book from my library, re-downloaded it, still the same problem. Sent a second email after several days to my library. No response.

I called. No response. Called again. No response.

On 11/16, more than two weeks after initial attempt to contact the library tech, I was at the library, so I spoke to the tech on duty. He's been trying to help. He contacted Overdrive and forwarded their response. ADE 2.0 still working fine, just not with that ONE book. Had a few other books in my library that were working fine.