• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Master Page applies to entire spread

Participant ,
Dec 15, 2016 Dec 15, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a doc with master page spreads: one spread has running feet, the other doesn't. When I apply the running feet master page to the left page only in a spread of the doc (either by dragging the left master page to that page or by going to the menu with the page chosen and "apply master page") it applies itself to the entire spread. If I then apply the blank master to the right hand page, the running foot remains. The only way I can get rid of it is to override and delete.

So why does the master page spread apply itself to the entire spread when I've only chosen one page in the spread? How to prevent this?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Participant , Dec 15, 2016 Dec 15, 2016

And you know what: thinking on a similar post I found I went back and realized that I did something maybe not incredibly stupid but stupid enough. On the master page I ran the text frame on both pages right up to (but not over) the gutter in the middle. So, obviously it saw the recto running foot frame as belonging to the verso page. I'm very sorry to have taken everyone's time. Just never occurred to me that the gutter was radioactive.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

And just to be sure, you are dragging the Left Master icon onto the left-hand page, releasing the drag when you see a thick black outline around just the left-hand page?

Mike Witherell

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Participant ,