• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Alternate Backup for Organizer

Explorer ,
Dec 16, 2016 Dec 16, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

i"m using PSE 15 on an iMac (macOS 10.12). I've been using PSE for 5+ years, but never Organizer. I used iPhoto to organize my photos, but Apple has stopped supporting iPhoto in favor of Photos which has no link to PSE to edit photos. I decided to bite the bullet and migrate everything (200+K photos) to Organizer. Things are progressing, so it is time to run some backups. I have successfully created full and incremental backups of some of my catalogs.  I have two concerns about backup. First I don't like being asked to run a backup when I open a catalog. I usually want to start editing photos and would run a backup occasionally during my editing project. Second, even though I'm writing my backup to an external hard drive, the backup gave each picture a unique name not related to the real picture name. I have faith it would get restored with the original  name, but for other reasons I would like to have the original name. (Is this a bug?)

After all that, my question is can I use an app like ChronoSync to backup my photos and the Organizer's catalog directory and create files that could be used to recover a catalog? Would backing up /Users/alan/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Elements Organizer gather the necessary files? The main reason for this approach would to be able to regularly schedule backups to run during off hours.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Dec 17, 2016 Dec 17, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Using the backup from the organizer or from another backup solution:

That's an old question:

Photoshop Elements 6/7/8 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)