Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Backup catalog and original photos

New Here ,
Dec 25, 2016 Dec 25, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello guys,

I am a beginner and trying to understand in depth the workflow of LR with PS.
I understand that the catalog is only information and appoitment about my original photos located in especific folder or external drive. The question is if I backup a catalog how the whole database is going to be restored? I mean the catalog restored will point to the previous folders where the photos were stored so I must have the same photos in the same folders in order to make the restored catalog work properly again right?

I hope it's not confusing

Regards

Osvaldo Bruno Barbosa

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Dec 25, 2016 Dec 25, 2016

There are four sets of files that need to be backed up:

- the LR catalog(s): *.LrCat -- LR will make a ZIPped copy on the schedule you choose. By default LR will put these back-ups in a subdirectory of the main catalog. This a bad. You should to pick a folder on a drive different from the main catalog.

- The preview folders: *.LrData -- these files are created on the fly and do not need to be backed up.

- The LR presets: *.LrTemplate -- these are normally stored in a hard-to-find folder. The Prefer

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi osvaldob,

Lightroom catalog doesn't store images with in it. like a Photos app in mac, it only capture the image previews of the image editing and later on you can export that image out for the further use. Now in between this process the image previews connected with the original images which are stored on a separate folder outside the Lightroom.