• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

My GTX480 only occasionally works with Adobe Premiere Creative Cloud. What should I replace it with?

Participant ,
Dec 26, 2016 Dec 26, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

More often than not when I open an existing Adobe Premiere CC file the Mercury Playback Engine is not working.  I'm using an old GTX480 card.

What would be a good choice to replace that card -- that will fit in the same type slot in my tower.

This is a link to the GTX480 on Amazon -- it's what I purchased back in 2010.  It includes a photo of the hardware so you can see what kind of slot it needs to fit in.

Thanks!  Trying to finish a project and am weary of the occasional non availabilty of the Mercury Playback Engine.

BTW I have a Cooler Master power supply  1000watt

I'm primarily editing for the web.  No blockbuster wide screen motion pictures For Your Oscar Consideration.

Update:  Since I posted this question, I am looking at this:  EVGA GeForce GTX780

Further update:  I looked at the specs of my motherboard.  It says it has PCIe 2.0 x16 slots  I assume that limits my options?  Or is there a 2.0 to 3.0 adapter I can use??  My current motherboard specs from Amazon

Rowby

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Need more info on the rest of your rig. If it is as antiquated as that 480, buying a newer card may be futile. What version of PPro are you using ? If it is the current version of CC you may be just too far away from the old hardware.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more