• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Bullet alignment when using wrap text

New Here ,
Dec 29, 2016 Dec 29, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm running into a bullet alignment issue when using wrap text around an object. The bullets that is impacted by the picture do not align correctly. They no longer line up along the left hand side and they tab in much more than usual. I've attached a screenshot:

Capture.PNG

The bullet settings are as follows:

Capture2.PNG

I have a feeling that this issue could be solved with a new character style or paragraph style, but I'm not sure how to go about it. (I have been using InDesign for 5 years, but have not ever had to create character or paragraph styles.)

Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You've encountered a limitation of bulleted lists in InDesign when using a text wrap. I just ran into the exact same issue this past week on a project. The problem I believe is that in a standard bulleted list, it relies on a tab (as shown in the Text After field in your screen shot. When text wraps around an objects, those tabs are not updating to reflect the new position of the text.

To fix it, replace the ^t in the Text After field to an Em or En space by clicking on the arrow to the right of the Text After field and choosing Em or En space. This will replace the contents of the field with either ^m or ^>. You could even just type a single or double space to customize the spacing value if desired. Either way, this should produce a much more desirable result than what you currently have. You may want to create an additional paragraph style to use when you need to wrap bulleted items around an object.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines