• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help Authoring Tool Options & Enhancements

Explorer ,
Aug 05, 2008 Aug 05, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using RoboHelp x5 since 2005. For this year's budget meeting I have to provide options/cost comparison on other tools that are available. One thing that is of crucial importance is that my background is not in computer/technical (no can do code, scripting, etc), which is why RoboHelp was chosen in the first place.
1) Can anyone offer an "addon products" to use with RoboHelp (i.e. to enhance search function, etc)
2) Can anyone offer any advice (pros and/or cons) about any of the following Help Author Tools?
• AuthorIT
• Doc-To-Help
• chm2web
• FAR
• Help & Manual
• Help Generator
• HelpConsole 2008
• HelpNDoc
• HelpServer
• HelpStudio
• HelpTron
• HyperText Studio
• Macrobject Word-2-CHM
• Macrobject Word-2-Web
• MadCap Flare
• Mif2Go
• WinCHM
Any assistance will be MUCH appreciated!
Cindi

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Cindi.

I'm sure folks on this forum could offer loads of advice on most of those tools but it may not be particularly constructive You may do better to post to a non-RH specific forum like the HATT (Help Authoring Tools and Techniques) forum or refering to the matrix that compares different help authoring tools.

As far as add on products, you can look at Zoom Search. There is a good article on Peter Grainge's site that covers how this helps and how it integrates with RH. Other than that you may want to think of screen capture tools (e.g. Snagit) although RH has its own inbuilt capture tool. A find and replace tool (e.g. FAR or BkReplaEm) can also prove invaluable.

Hope this helps.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines