• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

SSHD or HDD with SSD Scratch Disk?

New Here ,
Jan 02, 2017 Jan 02, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to video editing but I really want to try my hand at it and my current PC is far outdated, so...

My PC is now due to retire and make way for an upgrade, but since I purchased my current PC (several years ago) SSDs and SSHDs seem to have become the big thing. So I've been trying to read up and learn.

So my new PC is based on using programs such as premiere Pro, PhotoShop and web design. I don't really play games.

And this is what I have in mind so far:

Intel i7 - 6700k 4 Core 4-4.2Ghz (Over Clocked)

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

Asus Z170-A Motherboard

16gb DDR4 2133Mhz RAM (2x 8gb)

128gb M.2 PCIe SSD (OS)

2 x Seagate BarraCuda 1TB 7200rpm HDD

Blu-Ray Rewriter

Win10 Home

Budget wise, I can just about stretch to changing the two HHDs to SSHDs (FireCudas) but is it worth it? What will I gain/lose?

Either way is it also worth adding a 120gb Scratch disk (SSD)?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Your build list looks very balanced for your budget - and that is a good thing!

Suggestions:

- upgrade the planned 128GB M.2 SSD to a 256 or 512GB capacity and put all of your Adobe scratch and cache files on your c:\ drive in addition to your Operating System and program files

- don't spend extra for hybrid drives (like the FireCudas); Adobe and Windows already do lots of optimizing that help Photoshop and Premiere already and the hybrid drives simply don't bring much more to the party