Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Please let me know if this laptop is overkill

Community Beginner ,
Jan 03, 2017 Jan 03, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all.

I'm a hobbyist photographer and use Lightroom and Photoshop heavily.  My HP HDX16 is tired and needs to be replaced.  I'm looking to get into editing all my home movies that no one can watch because they aren't organized and lots of short clips so I am dipping my feet into Premiere Pro and some After Effects.  I don't have 4k video yet, but I'm sure it will come in the future.  I was considering this machine:

Acer Predator 17 G5-793-72AU 17.3" Gaming Laptop Computer - Black; Intel Core i7-6700HQ Processor 2.6GHz; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 VR Ready; 16GB RAM; 1TB HDD + 256GB SSD  Full HD IPS LED-backlit LCD 1920 x 1080

this machine can be upgraded to 64 gb or Ramm if needed for the future.

I also just found something a few hundred cheaper:

HP ENVY 17-s143cl 17t Touchscreen Laptop - Intel® Core™ i7-7500U (2.7 GHz, up to 3.5 GHz with Intel® Turbo Boost Technology, 4 MB cache, 2 cores) -

NVIDIA GeForce 940M 4GB Graphics - 1080p; 16 GB DDR3L-1600 SDRAM (2 x 8 GB)

i'm leaning toward the Predator for future proofing but what would you do?

Thanks in advance.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've moved this to the Hardware Forum where the hardware experts are more likely to read and respond.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Go with the Predator because you do not want a 2-core CPU for editing.  Also the GPU is far superior with the GTX 1060

Votes

Translate

Translate