• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Aligning Text Frames to Spine with Facing Pages

Community Beginner ,
Jan 04, 2017 Jan 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is my first time creating a highly-detailed document in InDesign that is in bound format with threaded text frames with sections, a table of contents, etc. I've reached an issue that I can't seem to fix.

My document is a two-page spread with facing pages (book-style format with a spine). Each page has 0.5" margins on all sides with two columns: a smaller column of 1.5" and a larger column of 5.75" with a 0.25" gutter. The larger column is situated toward the spine with the smaller column on the outside. My primary text frame for every page is within the larger column and spans the entire width of this larger column (see image). The text frames are included in the master and I override them on each page (Cmd+click) to insert my copy. The smaller column is only used for anchored objects (similar to callouts) that reflow with the text.

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 12.27.22 PM.png

The problem i'm facing is that when I insert a new page, because I have uneven columns and facing pages, the primary text box is out of position when the pages shuffle (see image).

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 12.36.02 PM.png

I really need these text boxes to stay aligned toward the spine because the document is huge and it's a big waste of time to have to reposition each text box individually on every page. Is there a way to do this?

Thank you in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Mentor , Jan 04, 2017 Jan 04, 2017

>> is huge and it's a big waste of time to have to reposition each text box individually on every page

adjust layout script. You have this script already installed with your indesign.