• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Whats the best computer for running Premier the most quickly/efficiently?

New Here ,
Jan 05, 2017 Jan 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm a professional editor that is long overdue for a computer upgrade. I've been editing with Premier over a year on my MacBook Pro, and I plan to continue using it for the next few years while I continue to work freelance.

I have around a few thousand to spend on a new editing bay, and I'm wondering what aspects of a computer would be worth spending that kind of money. For example, how would a 2009 27" iMac with 32GB RAM and a 3TB Fusion Drive compare to a 2015 27" iMac with 5K 16GB RAM and 1TB Fusion Drive?

The above question is just an example. I really am hoping to find out what aspects of a computer (specifically for using Premier) will be best for me to spend that kind of money. I don't want to waste money in areas that aren't as needed. Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Valorous Hero , Jan 06, 2017 Jan 06, 2017

the cpu will be most important, but a balanced editing system will have a decent video card, plenty of memory, and fast storage drives. a 2015 imac will have a much faster cpu, a 4 core i7, vs older imac's with 2 cores. a 4 core cpu is good for HD/1080p timelines/media and possibly very light 4k, but for more heavy HD/1080p work a new 6 core will be even faster, and 8 core for 4k... a 2013 mac pro does have 6-12 core cpu's, but they are older and somewhat slower. so the mac pro 6 core may actual

Votes

Translate

Translate
Valorous Hero ,
Jan 06, 2017 Jan 06, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied