• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

The following files were not imported because they could not be read...

New Here ,
Jan 08, 2017 Jan 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Guys,

I'm a LR newbie, so excuse my ignorance in advance. When I try to import photos from my XQD card/reader, I can only import them to my hard drive. My backup location (Seagate 2tb USB drive)  gives me this message,

"The following files were not imported because they could not be read or the destination folder is not writable" then a list of jpegs.

So far, I've run the LR script for repairing permissions, and verified permissions on the backup drive to read/write.

The only other detail that I've noticed is that on the import screen where the Copy as DNG, Copy, Move, Add  buttons are, the Move and Add buttons are greyed out and won't function.

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jan 08, 2017 Jan 08, 2017

Based on lots of reports here, Mac OS upgrades frequently screw with file system permissions that should not be messed with.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You do not have the write permission in your operating system to the location on the Seagate drive. Change the permissions on this drive. (It is also possible that the drive is not formatted properly to allow Lightroom to write to it, what operating system and what drive format?)

So far, I've run the LR script for repairing permissions, and verified permissions on the backup drive to read/write.