• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Beginner's Help for RoboHelp Required

Aug 08, 2008 Aug 08, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello.

I am a non-tech writer who has been put in charge of writing/updating existing help files for a project. I am using RoboHelp 7 for the first time, and have never worked on any other Help file or with another Help file system in my life.

To that end, I am confused at even the most basic level.

The previous writer has not handed off to me the source files for this project. I assume that if she had, I could just click on a project file with an extension that ends in .xpj, .mpj, .hhp, .hlp, and/or .hpj.

I have, however, received a .chm file based on her work (she's using an earlier version of RoboHelp if that's relevant). Following some of the advice here and elsewhere, I used the Microsoft HTML Help Workshop to decompile the .chm and get a bunch of source files. Was that the right thing to do? It seems weird that I cannot do that in RoboHelp itself.

Anyway, I now have a bunch of files. What I do not have, and what I expected to have, is a file with a RoboHelp icon, or a file with one of the various extensions I listed above.

That means I do not know how to open the project and begin editing/updating it in RoboHelp.

Any ideas for me? I will thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Welcome -

Sorry your situation is what brought you here...

Best solution: GET THE SOURCE FILES. That employee (be she former W2 or 1099 contractor) OWES the company those files. Have your legal department begin proceeding right away - no, I'm not kidding.