• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing edited photos from iPhoto to lightroom CC

New Here ,
Jan 04, 2017 Jan 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi.  I'm a longtime iphoto/photoshop elements user that is making the switch to LR.  I'm a hobbyist who is also the families photo depository.  I don't have an interest in maintaining my iPhoto library so I plan to use LR going forward for new photos as well as old.  Two things are important to me:  keeping key words and the edited versions of my photos.  In other words, I just care about the photos as I see them displayed in iPhoto currently.  No need for the originals.  In iPhoto, aside from some keyword based smart albums, I don't use albums and events.  In a sense, I guess I have one big album, and it displays photos in chronological order (I edit the original date of any old photos I scan).

To my surprise, I see the LR iPhoto transfer plug in does not transfer photo adjustments.  I assume that means I will get the originals only without the edits I made in iPhoto.  As a result, would it be better for me to export my entire library from iPhoto with title and keywords into a folder that will eventually be my import folder for any new photos to LR?  In a little experiment I did, I see I am getting keywords, and photos are displaying in chronological order.  Does anyone see a flaw in this plan?

I presume I would then delete the contents of that unintelligible iPhoto library some how afterward.

I'm currently running OS 10.9.5 and iPhoto 9.5.1 with 6,700 photos mostly jpg with a few RAWs and a smattering of videos.   

Thanks for any info, suggestions and experience you can share.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied