Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Save for web - different colors

Community Beginner ,
Jan 22, 2017 Jan 22, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I'm trying to create a gif-animation in PS CC 2017 but I have some issues with the background color..simply doesn't match what I need : e4e4e4

It's a matter of some settings inside "save for web" or I simply cannot match exacly that color?

Capture 3.JPG

Capture 2.JPG

Here's the result in terms of differences : I get dcdcdc instead of.. e4e4e4

Capture 1.JPG

Thanks for help!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 24, 2017 Jan 24, 2017

Sorry, but as a matter of principle I never download from unknown sources. Nothing personal.

But there's no need. This is the color you want:

228.png

This patch is a PNG file with sRGB embedded, and can be used as a reference. Right-click, save as, and open it in Photoshop.

Now, it's important you realize that e4e4e4 (228-228-228) produces this particular color in the sRGB color space, specifically. If no icc profile is embedded in the file, those numbers are undefined and will produce different colors on

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Jan 22, 2017 Jan 22, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is why color management was invented.

Numbers - including hex numbers - mean nothing until they are defined in a color space. For web this normally means sRGB. The profile defines any given RGB triplet as a specific color. Without the profile the numbers are undefined.

I don't know if the GIF format even supports icc profiles (I have never used it). But if Photoshop's working RGB is set to sRGB, and SFW Preview is set to "Use Document Profile", they should match. Or they would in any format that supports color management.

Votes