Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Image quality poor when saving from Lightroom

Community Beginner ,
Jan 25, 2017 Jan 25, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all

I'm a novice in both photography and the Adobe products but am fast becoming addicted.  Anyway, I have noticed that when I save my crisp, edited images from Lightroom, the quality of the image drops dramatically.  I'm attaching a screen shot of both the Lightroom image as I would like it to appear and the saved version plus my save settings.  Many thanks for your help with this newbie.  - Melissa

Screen Shot 2017-01-25 at 13.14.54.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-25 at 13.19.25.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 25, 2017 Jan 25, 2017

melking_1978 wrote:

Yes correct. I'm not using any software to open the image, just double clicking on the jpeg image I've saved to my Mac desktop.

You are using software in that case. You are using Apple's preview. It is fully color managed but uses a different scaling algorithm to scale down large images to the much lower resolution of your display than Lightroom does. This will make images appear much softer than they looked in Lightroom. If you export in 16 bit tiff, your images will be very

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I assume the right hand image is in Lightroom, and the left hand image is after you do an Export from Lightroom. Is that correct?

Please tell me what software you are using to view the photo outside of Lightroom.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied