• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to create vector PDF file of 300DPI for logo?

New Here ,
Jan 26, 2017 Jan 26, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone. I am trying to save some money by designing my logo myself. The company who are printing my business cards need me to send the file as a vector PDF, 300DPI. I do not know how to save the file this way. I only have Lightroom and Photoshop on my Mac (I'm a photographer.) Can I save the file as they requested using Photoshop? If so, how?

Thanks in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 26, 2017 Jan 26, 2017

As pointed out, Illustrator is Adobe's primary vector app. But Photoshop has some vector tools built in. They're mainly there as an aid to making masks and selections, but with a little care you can make finished vector files from Photoshop. As long as you keep it simple. Anything complicated, and you need Illustrator.

The Photoshop tool you need to master for this is the Pen tool. No space for a full pen tool tutorial here, but basically you draw a path over the original, fill and stroke as requ

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Even if you could just make the logo in Photoshop you REALLY shouldn't... Illustrator is what you should use....

Everyone should always use Illustrator for Logos and Illustrations...

Even InDesign would be better...

Vectors are point based rather than pixel based so for goodness sake if you ignore this comment and do it in Photoshop anyway at least make it using the Pen tools rather than brush etc...