• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

New to RoboHelp and help authoring

Explorer ,
Aug 07, 2008 Aug 07, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to RoboHelp and help authoring. Please excuse my lack of skillful use of language/ lingo. I have a help file that my company used for a client-server application. I need to adapt it for an upcoming Web application. I don't have the first clue where to begin or what to do. I've been told to save the help file to a new location to see if it builds another tree structure. I've also been told to save each (project within the help file?) individually and to test first. I guess my first question is how do I go about saving/storing each element of the help file individually? What is the best structure for the web? Honestly until I get to a training class I'm hoping someone will take me under their wing and give me some guidance. I realize that's a mighty tall order. I'm praying for a miracle and hoping there is an angel out there just waiting in the wings to rescue me!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi rccrcoleman and welcome to heaven You'll find these forums full of useful tips and RH related information.

First off, you need to ask where the help will reside as this will help you decide what type of help file output to use. If you have a web application, it is likely that it will be web based which normally means you will have WebHelp output. If you open a RH project you'll this listed in the Single Source Layout folder. Try double clicking on this on a test project and just accept all the defaults. You'll end up with some output for you to look at.