Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best "Storage" Setup for AE/PP?

New Here ,
Jan 30, 2017 Jan 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey everyone!

I am running a 2013 Mac Pro (12 core, 1TB, D700, 64GB) for video editing.

My current drive setup is as follows:

4x 512GB Samsung Pro SSDs in an OWC ThunderBay Mini (Raid 0 — 1200MB Write, 1320MB Read)

1 TB Mac Pro SSD (980MB Write, 1110MB Read)

8x 8TB IronWolf HDDs in an Areca 8050 (Raid 1+0 — 850MB Write, 1050MB Read)

How would you suggest I set up my AE/PP drives? How should the "workflow" of my setup be in terms of file movement?

I am very new to this all, but I was thinking:

1) Move files from camera to the SSD Raid 0.
2) Edit files.
3) Render to Desktop
4) Transfer all files to HDD Raid 1+0 for storage.

Does this seem like it would give me the best rendering speeds or whatnot? Is there a better way to set this up?

Like I said, I have no real idea how to go about this all.

THANK YOU!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jan 30, 2017 Jan 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Side question: would you suggest, instead, doing 8x 256GB Samsung Pro SSDs in a Raid 0 (instead of 4x 512GB)?

Would the increase in speed make any difference in rendering?

any other suggestions?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Feb 02, 2017 Feb 02, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Anyone??

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a little in tthe dark on Mac configurations.  Where are your OS/Applications located is it on the 1 TB SSD?