• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Strange Zoom Behavior

Community Beginner ,
Feb 04, 2017 Feb 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using InDesign on a daily basis since the early 2000's. About six months ago I started working as a designer at a digital print shop. We have fairly new iMacs and all of our operating systems and software is up to date.

One of the things I do a lot of is stepping and repeating a piece of artwork (like a business card, for example) so that we can print multiple copies on a sheet of paper. I sometimes use the step and repeat function built into the program, but often when I only need to step something to make it 4-up, it's just faster to use the Opt+Drag method.

What I've been experiencing (for some reason) is that when I use the key combination of Opt+Shift+Drag (to constrain the movement), as I'm dragging the zoom level suddenly zooms out so that my page becomes a tiny 2 or 3 inch square on my screen. It doesn't seem to do this every time, but it does it often enough to be a real bother. I use smart guides to position the stepped artwork so it usually happens when I'm trying to line my copies up to a smart guide. If I'm quick enough, I can avoid the zoom-out, but it makes it harder to be precise. It only does this on my computer at work. My iMac and MacBook Pro at home haven't ever done this.

I've poked around in the preferences and have tried to find something in a user forum, but so far I haven't been able to find anyone else who has this problem.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Opt click and hold will launch the zoom feature if nothing is selected. Make sure you have a selection before doing anything else.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines