• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Transferring files to another catalogue without loosing datas.

Explorer ,
Feb 12, 2017 Feb 12, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using just one catalogue for 8 years but now I feel that I need to organize all files base on year with a catalogue. More files mean more HDD that I need to plug in together which is very ridiculous.

Screen Shot 2017-02-12 at 2.54.02 PM.png

As you can see, I have two HDDs so far but if I want to access those previous files, then I need to plug my first HDD together since Im using the most recent catalogue to back up all files. I can not do this after I have more than 3 HDDs which will be very complicating situation. So Im thinking to create catalogues base on year like 2017 or 2016 instead of putting folders base on year. BUT, I have no idea how to transfer those files to another catalogue without loosing datas. I already edited a lot of images and I dont want to import images without datas. Are there any ways to transfer those files to a new catalogue without loosing edited datas?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Stay as you are, and don't break up control of your pictures into more than one catalogue.

Instead, take a look at smart previews. Once you have generated them for an earlier year, you can then see the photos even when the hard drive isn't connected.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied