• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Making 3D Text Transparent (while maintaining sides)

New Here ,
Feb 17, 2017 Feb 17, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Test.jpg

I am a beginner to After Effects, and am dealing with a transparency issue. I want to make the brown, square picture on the left into the transparent background of the title. However, I only want to make the blue in the text transparent, I want the white edges to stay the way they are.

I have already tried alpha matte, and the text became transparent, but the white edges became transparent as well. I believe it's a whole lot better to keep the white edges, so the title will be easier to read.

Any help to making the blue text, but not the edges, transparent would be great! Thank you!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 17, 2017 Feb 17, 2017

What you are doing wrong is not reading the warning when you select the C4D renderer or the, and please do not use it if C4D rendering is available, the Ray-traced rendering engine. Effects are disabled on 3D layers along with a bunch of other things.

It took me a while to figure out what you were trying to do. I think I've got it but but I will offer two solutions. In the future please just use Print screen to capture a screenshot (Shift + Ctrl/Cmnd + 3 on Mac) to capture a screenshot of the who

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You could try a chroma key.  Keylight ought to do the trick for you.  But it won't get rid of that image on the left you want to use as a text fill.