• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Placed text comes out in little boxes

Explorer ,
Feb 18, 2017 Feb 18, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all...I'm no pro at Indesign, but have done a few projects...this time when I'm placing text from an .rtf, it doesn't flow across the pages as other documents I've done, instead it comes out in little squares..the title is in a box with blue borders, the authors name, etc. the rest of the document is just ..little boxes. help?id.jpg

thanks in advance

carrie

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 20, 2017 Feb 20, 2017

Carrie:

What version are you on? I can send the file in a format you can open if that would help, although I don't think you need it anymore.

In the meantime, what we are seeing in your file are lots of extra returns, which will make what you are describing happen. Use Type > Show Hidden Characters to expose the returns.

InDesign CCss_019.png\

InDesign makes this very easy to clean up:

1. Click in the story.
  2. Edit > Find/Change
  3. Query: Remove Trailing White Space, Change All
    InDesign CCss_021.png

And while you are at it, run the Multiple Space to Sin

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are several issues here – 1) the pink behind the lettering means you don't have that font installed on your computer. 2) the little red cross means you have more text than the text frame can contain (you need to make the frame larger, or make the type smaller or cut some text). or 3) To make the text flow from one frame to the other you need to understand how to use the in and our points in text frames: Thread text among frames in Adobe InDesign

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines